My only regret is that I waited

“But until a person can say deeply and honestly, “I am what I am today because of the choices I made yesterday,” that person cannot say, “I choose otherwise.”  ― Stephen R. Covey

Last September, I realized that I was a collection of my choices. Some not healthy or wise. It was my doing and mine alone. I ate the junk food, I determined my activity (or rather non-activity) each day. Pretty much an average 40 year old gal. I was tired of sinking into average.

Part of what woke up my realization was seeing a path and a plan to make different choices. Not just “eating healthy” but a plan with the extra nutrition and fuel my body craved, encouragement and support. I found a proven path with coaches and mentors who had already paved the way and were reaching back to guide me.

I am grateful. I am now making much better choices in my health and it shows. 42 pounds gone to not be found again. The delightful surprise in all of this change is the great friendships I have formed. It is refreshing to connect with friends who share similar goals and aspirations.

The only regret I have now is that I didn’t start this last spring when I was first introduced to the AdvoCare program. I would be much closer to my goals now. I waited ONLY because of fear of change, feeling like my life had to be perfect to get started and because it cost more than I thought I had. Looking back now, that was all in my head. I had the willingness to change, life still isn’t perfect and the small investment in ME and our family pales in comparison now to the way I feel.

969652_10201096219825015_568875130_nI realize that this is a lifestyle change and there are days and weeks where the food options in front of me aren’t perfect. I choose wisely anyway. And if I get off track, I get back on the next meal. I have found that the healthy tracks are right where I left them.

Because this change in my health has made such a positive difference in so many areas of my life, I kick myself for not scraping up that money for a 24 Day Challenge last spring. I could have done it. I am quite sure I purchased a few mani/pedis and other things that added up to that amount back then. I just didn’t make my health a priority at the time. (kick me, smile, and move on).

If you are thinking about getting started in a health journey, start today. Your battle is probably with the fork, not the gym. Start today… it is worth it. YOU are worth it. Your family is worth it. Whatever program you choose… stick to it.

If you need help or have questions, message me. I would be honored to help you and cheer you along with our team of amazing and inspiring friends.

P.S. If you enjoy posts like this, check out this blog, Fluffy and Figuring Out Fit, from my dear friend Kimberly. She is rocking an awesome healthy lifestyle change and shares her journey transparently and cheerfully.

